Manitoba Under 18 Men's Championship

Sponsor:

2019 - Asham Curling Supplies

Provincial Under 18 Men's Championship Format History:

The event began in 2013 with 8 teams The playoff involved the top four teams playing a straight knockout. In 2019, the event was increased to 12 teams in 2 groups of six playing a round robin with the top 2 teams in each group advancing to a page playoff. In 2021 the event was not played. In 2023, an open format was used with only 7 teams. They played a round robin with the second and third place teams playing off for the right to play the first place team. In 2024, 9 teams competed with a page playoff final.

Canadian Under 18 Men's Championship Format History

The event began in 2017, Teams are drawn into two pools with the top three teams in each pool advancing to the Championship round and the remaining teams playing in a seeding pool. The top four teams play in the semi-final and Final. In 2018, the format was changed to the top four teams in each pool advancing to a 8 team double knockout playoff round to determine four semi-finalist teams. The event was not held in 2020 and 2021. In 2022, the 21 teams played in three pools of 7 with the top three teams advancing to a straight knockout championship.

Provincial Final

In the four years that the Page Playoff was used to determine the champion, the winner of the 1 vs 1 game went on the win the championship on three occasions. The time the loser of the 1 vs 1 game came back to win the championship.. Teams skipped by Jordon McDonald (2019) and (2020) are the only teams to register unbeaten 7-0 records.

Listing of Provincial Under 18 Men's Champions

Year	Club	Skip	Third	Second	Lead	Record
2013	Carberry	Braden Calvert	Shayne MacGranachan	Cody Cherepuschak	Max Van Kommer	4-1
2014	Starbuck	Brandon Radford	Jeremy Warne	Noah Miller	Colton Gibb	4-1
2015	Heather	Hayden Forrester	Andrew Clapham	Brett MacDonald	Cole Chandler	4-1
2016	Fort Rouge	Brett Walter	Andrew Clapham	Brett MacDonald	Cole Chandler	5-0
2017	Morris	Brett Walter	Jordan Peters	Zachary Wasylik	Liam Tod	5-0
2018	Elmwood	Brett Walter	Thomas Dunlop	Zachary Wasylik	Chase Dusessoy	5-0
2019	St. Vital	Jordon McDonald	Jaedon Neuert	Braxton Kuntz	Alexandre Fontaine	7-0
2020	St. Vital	Jordon McDonald	Jaedon Neuert	Braxton Kuntz	Alexandre Fontaine	7-0
2021	Covid					
2022	Deer Lodge	Jordon McDonald	Elias Huminicki	Jace Freeman	Cameron Olafson	6-1
2023	Virden	Jace Freeman	Elias Huminicki	Rylan Graham	Jack Steski	6-1
2024	Altona	Rylan Campbell	Logan Zacharias	Nick Senff	Rylan Graham	6-1

Listing of Manitoba Provincial Under 18 Men's Finalist's

Year	Club	Skip	Third	Second	Lead
2013	West Kildonan	Matt Dunstone (DNP)	Connor McIntyre	Kyle Kurz	Robbie Gordon
2014	Wildewood	Colin Kurz	Ryan Lemoine	Andrew Clapham	Brendan Bilawka
2015	Morris	Jordan Peters	Zachary Wasylik	Liam Tod	Graeme Bergman
2016	Springfield	Tyson Roeland	Griffin Smith	Ethan Dunn	Mack Smith
2017	St. Vital	Ryan Wiebe	Graham Loewen	Sean Flatt	Adam Flatt
2018	Morris	Joshua Friesen	Troy Kemball	Griffin Smith	Shawn Thidrickson
2019	St. Vital	Graham Loewen	Sean Flatt	Zack Bilawka	Adam Flatt

2020	Winnipeg Beach	Josh Maisey	Sean Giesbrecht	Oliver Demeyer	Sebastien Pruneau
2021	Covid				
2022	West St. Paul	Ryan Ostrowsky	Jack Steski	Luke Robins	Logan Strand
2023	Heather	Ronan Peterson	Nick Senff	Roan Hunker	Nathan Kelly
2024	Morden	Nash Sugden	Tyler Fehr	Tanner Treichel	Ryan Thiessen

Most Appearances at Provincial Under 18 Men's

Surname	Given Name	Number
Huminicki	Elias	5
Watkins	Carter	5
Clapham	Andrew	4
Demeyer	Oliver	4
Dunn	Ethan	4
Dusessoy	Chase	4
Giesbrecht	Sean	4
Harris	Brady	4
Magura	Braden	4
Maisey	Josh	4
Malmquist	Carter	4
Steski	Jack	4
Wasylik	Zachary	4

Most Games Played at Provincial Under 18 Men's

Surname	Given Name	Number
Huminicki	Elias	33
Demeyer	Oliver	25
Giesbrecht	Sean	25
Maisey	Josh	25
Steski	Jack	25
Watkins	Carter	23
Senff	Nick	22
Magura	Braden	21
Malmquist	Carter	21
McDonald	Jordon	21
Wasylik	Zachary	20
Clapham	Andrew	19
Dunn	Ethan	19
Flatt	Andrew	19
Flatt	Sean	19
Freeman	Jace	19
Graham	Rylan	19
Loewen	Graham	19
Robins	Luke	19
Trinke	John	19
Campbell	Rylan	18
Dusessoy	Chase	18
Johnson	Tim	18
Steski	Jack	18
Harris	Brady	17

Under 18 Men's

Rutter	Jayden	17
Sugden	Nash	17
Thiessen	Ryan	17
Treichel	Tanner	17

Most Games Won at Provincial Under 18 Men's

0	Oir rain Niema	NIl
Surname	Given Name	Number
Huminicki	Elias	23
McDonald	Jordon	20
Wasylik	Zachary	17
Demeyer	Oliver	16
Giesbrecht	Sean	16
Maisey	Josh	16
Senff	Nick	16
Clapham	Andrew	15
Graham	Rylan	15
Walter	Brett	15
Flatt	Andrew	14
Flatt	Sean	14
Fontaine	Alexandre	14
Kuntz	Braxton	14
Loewen	Graham	14
Neuert	Jaedon	14
Steski	Jack	14
Freeman	Jace	13
Dunlop	Thomas	12
Johnson	Tim	12
Peters	Jordan	12

Most Under 18 Men's Provincial Finals Played In

McDonald	Jordon	3	3-0
Walter	Brett	3	3-0
Clapham	Andrew	3	2-1
Wasylik	Zachary	3	2-1
Chandler	Cole	2	2-0
Fontaine	Alexandre	2	2-0
Freeman	Jace	2	2-0
Graham	Rylan	2	2-0
Huminicki	Elias	2	2-0
Kuntz	Braxton	2	2-0
MacDonald	Brett	2	2-0
Neuert	Jaedon	2	2-0
Peters	Jordan	2	1-1
Senff	Nick	2	1-1
Steski	Jack	2	1-1
Tod	Liam	2	1-1
Flatt	Adam	2	0-2
Flatt	Sean	2	0-2

Smith	Griffin	2	0-2

Most Provincial U18 Men's Championships Won

McDonald	Jordon	3
Walter	Brett	3
Chandler	Cole	2
Clapham	Andrew	2
Fontaine	Alexandre	2
Freeman	Jace	2
Graham	Rylan	2
Huminicki	Elias	2
Kuntz	Braxton	2
MacDonald	Brett	2
Neuert	Jaedon	2
Wasylik	Zachary	2

Manitoba Under 18 at the Canadian Under 18 Men's Championship

Nash Sugden

2017	Morris	Brett Walter	Jordan Peters	Zachary Wasylik	Liam Tod	9	3-5
2018	Elmwood	Brett Walter	Thomas Dunlop	Zachary Wasylik	Chase Dusessoy	5	5-3
2019	St. Vital	Jordon McDonald	Jaedon Neuert	Braxton Kuntz	Alexandre Fontaine	3	8-2
2022	Deer Lodge	Jordon McDonald	Elias Huminicki	Jace Freeman	Cameron Olafson	5	4-3
2023	Virden	Jace Freeman	Elias Huminicki	Rylan Graham	Jack Steski	6	6-4
2024	Altona	Rylan Campbell	Logan Zacharias	Nick Senff	Rylan Graham	9	6-3
Wildca	ırd						
2022	West St. Paul	Ryan Ostrowsky	Jack Steski	Luke Robins	Logan Strand	18	1-5
2023	Heather	Ronan Peterson	Nick Senff	Roan Hunker	Nathan Kelly	13	5-3

Tanner Treichel

Ryan Thiessen

2-6

18

Awards (2017 - Current)

Morden

2024

Provincial Coaching Awards

2024 Albert Bazinet (Team Malmquist)

Balance Plus Fair Play Award

Selected by the event officials are awarded in each position player and coach

2022 - Jack Steski (third)

Sportsmanship Award

The awards are voted on by the players and presented to the curlers who best combine playing ability with sportsmanship.

Tyler Fehr

2019 - Jaedon Neuert

Under 18 Men's

National Coaching Award

The award winners are chosen by coaches, who are asked to select an opposing team coach who best exemplifies the attributes of coaching

no coach from Manitoba has been selected to date

Spirit Award

2023 - Elias Huminicki

Last Update January 8, 2024