Newly crowned Saskatchewan champion Mike McEwen will be in Stonewall this week for Manitoba’s Viterra Championship.

The four-time Manitoba Men’s champion skip (+ 2 juniors & 1 mixed) will provide the expert analysis on CurlManitoba’s livestream ‘broadcasts’ of the weekend playoff round as well as one preliminary round game.

McEwen has been a competitor in the last eight Canadian Brier championships as Manitoba champion, as a wildcard entry, and last year as the Ontario champion. He is the first skip to win three provinces and has done it three years in a row Manitoba (2022), Ontario (2023), and now Saskatchewan (2024).

As skip of the current #6 ranked team on the CTRS, and as a longtime Manitoba competitor, McEwen’s insights into the skills and strategies of the competing teams will enhance the commentary.

McEwen will join the CurlManitoba crew of commentators which includes Rick Brownlee, Pat Carson, Matt Dunlop, Resby Coutts, Norm Magnusson, Keith Johnston, Josh Harding and Craig Nichol. Viterra representative Ray Baloun will also make an appearance in the broadcast booth during the first game Wednesday morning.

The CurlManitoba livestream game will feature a game from every draw – all 17 games from sheet C at Stonewall’s Veteran’s Memorial Arena, thanks to the technical efforts of Big Day Media and the livestream sponsorship of Sunrise Credit Union, Seagram’s 83 and Pharmasave.

A link to CurlManitoba’s YouTube Channel can be found at