In 1908 Colonel J.W. deCourey O’Grady, who was President of the Manitoba Curling Association, presented a trophy to encourage good will and promote curling matches between affiliated clubs in the Association, which at that time included clubs from North Western Ontario and parts of Saskatchewan.  The official name is the O’Grady but is also affectionately known and called “The Old Buffalo”, the latter being taken from a figure of a bison standing in a defiant attitude on the trophy.  This large beautiful trophy, which is still in competition today, can be seen at the Curling Hall of Fame in the Manitoba Sports Museum at the Sport for Life Centre, 145 Pacific Avenue, Winnipeg. Colonel O’Grady also served as President in 1911.

The Trophy was put into play in the Annual M.C.A. Bonspiel of 1908.  Any club affiliated with the Association was eligible to enter a double rink (two teams) in the competition, the winner to be declared by the highest total number of points accumulated in a round robin competition.  Two Granite teams skipped by W.P. McDougall and Dr. A.B. Alexander were the winners, defeating double teams from Glenboro, Birtle, Napinka, Dauphin and Regina, Saskatchewan Clubs.

The O’Grady Challenge 2020/21 Season

Still time for city and rural curling clubs to submit applications to challenge for The O’Grady in 2020/21.  Last year over a dozen clubs participated in this historic event, which has been running continuously since 1908. Each participant receives an exclusive O’Grady Challenge competitor pin, which were newly redesigned last year.

The Trustees have elected to cancel the remainder of the 2019-2020 season of the O’Grady Challenge.

Fort Rouge Curling Club is the present holder of the O’Grady (briefcase) and will visit the first challenger next fall when curling resumes.

Subject to ice availability at Morris Curling Club and at St. Vital Curling Club, the Trustees will endeavor to schedule those two clubs to host their challenges at the very beginning of the season.

To find out more, please contact Ron Margolis, O’Grady Trustee at (204) 295-0163 or [email protected] or call the CurlManitoba office or visit our website:

2020-2021 Application – O’Grady

Schedule 2019-20

Since the competition started in 1908 a complete record of games and results have been kept.  To view these records please click here: stay tuned (or contact a trustee).

Click here for the prior years  O’Grady Challenge Results.

Click Here for the Map of O’Grady Competition Locations

For the complete history of the O’Grady Challenge please click here.

Basic Rules are as follows:
–  Challenging Rink supplies ice and hospitality.
–  One week to schedule the game.
–  Schedule is made up when all applications are in.
–  Winning team to contact Challenger to arrange a date during the week scheduled.

For a complete set of rules click here

An O’Grady competitor’s pin will be given to the members of each team that challenges regardless whether they win the match or not.