Click here for list of current HLM’s

History: CurlManitoba has been recognizing individuals for their contributions to the game of curling in our province since 1907. Since that time nearly 700 individuals have been recognized by CurlManitoba, the former MCA and MLCA with Honourary Life Memberships.

What is it?  CurlManitoba can annually recognize a maximum of four individuals who have provided volunteer service to the game of curling in the Province on behalf of  CurlManitoba. This service must have taken place over a significant period of time.

Examples of long service can include:

– long time member of the CurlManitoba Board of Directors

– long time involvement with the CurlManitoba Development program, officiating program or Ice Technician program.

– long time committee member of the Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame & Museum.

– other volunteer efforts on behalf of CurlManitoba

.Note: Recognition does not include on ice curling achievements or work done by individuals in their home club. In addition, no posthumous nominations are accepted.

What An HLM Receives: Those who have been awarded an Honourary Life Membership will receive a framed certificate, a label pin, a name bar and a Honourary Life Member medal. The individual will be featured on the CurlManitoba website and will be included in a permanent HLM listing on the website. A Life Members reception-dinner, usually held in the fourth calendar quarter of the year, provides an opportunity to welcome the new Life Members into the fellowship of this select group of curling volunteers.

How to Nominate: An individual may be nominated by their curling club or any individual who can provide in letter form a detailed listing of the nominee’s long service that makes the individual worthy of this honour. Nominations should be submitted to the CurlManitoba office at 145 Pacific Ave, Winnipeg. R3B 2Z6 or by email to [email protected] no later than January 31 of each year.

Nomination Review:  Should take place prior to the end of March.  the CurlManitoba President (or the Awards Committee Chair on behalf of the President) will convene a meeting of the HLM Nominating Committee where all nominations received will be reviewed. The President will then take the nomination report to a meeting of the CurlManitoba Board of Directors for ratification, after which the CurlManitoba President will contact the successful nominees. Letter applications will remain on file for a minimum of 3 years.


2022-2023 CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members:

Pamela Horn – Brandon Curling Club

Rob Rummery – Deer Lodge Curling Club


2021-2022 CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members:

Ray Baker – Dauphin Curling Club

Lance Wadelius – Beausejour Curling Club

Gail Cabana-Coldwell – Deer Lodge Curling Club

Joyce Wyrchowny – Stonewall Curling Club


2020-2021 CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members:

Darren Oryniak – Granite Curling Club

Debbie Schween – Fort Rouge Curling Club

Wayne Griffin – Brandon Curling Club

2019/2020 CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members

Ian Staniloff (Granite Curling Club)

Terry Peters (Altona Curling Club)

Marj Bone – Deer Lodge Curling Club

Murray McLeod (Springfield Curling Club)

The 2018 CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members are as follows:

Danny Vande Vyvere (Pembina CC) – Photo Missing

Matt Pilloud

Jim MacGregor

Hans Wuthrich


The 2017 CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members are as follows:

Wendell Keeler (Portage CC)
Catherine Moffat (Brandon CC)
Al Friesen (Altona CC)
Rita VandeVyvre (Heather CC)

The 2016 CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members are as follows:

Sam Antila (Burntwood CC)
Kim Warburton (Fort Rouge CC)
Russ Hinds (Charleswood CC)

The 2015 CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members are as follows:

John Graham – Safeway/Sobeys (presented at Safeway Championship in Brandon)
Hilda Towerzey (Piper)
Paul Wiecek (Winnipeg Free Press)
Rob Van Kommer (Carberry CC)

The 2014 CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members are as follows:

Jim Winfield (Grandview CC)

Sharon Thiessen Woods (Heather CC)

Anni Markmann (Ste Anne CC) — Photo Missing

The 2013 CurlManitoba Honourary Life Members are as follows:

Bev Harris

Terry Leitch

Mel Marsh